2014 Awards Recipients

Click the award titles to learn more about the recipients

MTNA Achievement Award

Byron Janis
New York, New York

MTNA Teacher of the Year

Martha Hilley, NCTM
Austin, Texas

MTNA Distinguished Service Award

Ruth Pitts, NCTM
Waco, Texas

MTNA Citation for Leadership

Michael J. Bates, Yamaha Corporation of America

Frances Clark Keyboard Pedagogy Award

From The Top

MTNA Distinguised Composer of the Year

Michael-Thomas Foumai
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Flash Fiction​

Distinguised Composer of the Year Honorable Mention

Kris Becker
Houston, Texas
Enticements and Eternity​

MTNA State Affiliate of the Year

Texas Music Teachers Association
Debra S. Hadfield, NCTM, president

Local Association of the Year

Richmond Music Teachers Association (Richmond, Virginia)
Jennifer Scott, president

Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year

University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
Brianna Matzke, president
Michelle Conda, faculty advisor

American Music Teacher Article of the Year

Jessica Johnson, NCTM
Madison, Wisconsin
"Feeling The Sound: Reflections On Claiming One's Own Musical Voice"
Published in August/September 2013

MTNA e-Journal Article of the Year

Kevin Richmond
Memphis, Tennessee
"Non-Traditional Notation And Techniques In Student Piano Repertoire"
Published in February 2013

MarySue Harris Studio Teacher Fellowship Award

Davis Dorrough, NCTM
Edmond, Oklahoma

Piano Technicians Guild Foundation Scholarship

Andrea Marks, NCTM
Angels Camp, California

50-Year Members

Jerry L. Anderson, Saint Joseph, Missouri
Marilyn Brossard, NCTM, Burlington, Washington
Barbara F. Caine, NCTM, Charlotte, North Carolina
Beverly M. Carow,Front Royal, Virginia
Jeri Danielson, NCTM, Santa Clara, California
Margaret Null Dowell, NCTM, Carmel, Indiana
Helen Elbert, Tyler, Texas
Juanita A. Free, NCTM, Oakhills, Oregon
Ellen Young Gunn, NCTM, Ellisville, Mississippi
Mary Ann Head, NCTM, Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Mary Ann Knight, Rome, Georgia
Laura Lindow, St. Clair, Michigan
Evelyn Curtis Losack, NCTM, Corrales, New Mexico
Carolyn B. Malnes, Lynnwood, Washington
June S. Miller, NCTM, Ft. Washington, Maryland
Ardell Miller, Plato, Minnesota
Mable R. Morrison, Dover, Delaware
Carole F. Nicholson, Raleigh, North Carolina
James C. Norden, NCTM, Bayside, Wisconsin
Helen K. Ramsaur, Rome, Georgia
Marlene Rayl, NCTM, Findlay, Ohio
Ilse Schmidt, Arlington Heights, Illinois
Lorene Springer, NCTM, Abilene, Texas
Echolyn Travis, NCTM, Clancy, Montana
Mary Jane Triplett, NCTM, Purlear, North Carolina
Alma R. Tucciarone, Albemarle, North Carolina
Eva Vencl, Vero Beach, Florida
Sidney R. Vise, Springfield, Missouri
James G. Wolf, NCTM, Winter Springs, Florida
Darlene J. Wolleat, NCTM, Shoreview, Minnesota

Leadership Service Recognitions

Linda Barker, NCTM, Certification Commissioner
Lezlee Bishop, NCTM, Membership Committee Chair
Peter Mack, NCTM, Conference Planning Committee Chair
Jo Plunkett, NCTM, Certification Commissioner
Cheryl Rytting, NCTM, Certification Commissioner

Membership Recruitment Recognitions

Rhode Island Music Teachers Association: Sang Woo Kang, president
Indiana Music Teachers Association: Rebecca V. Baker, president
Montana State Music Teachers Association: Sharon Weaver-Knowles, NCTM, president
Kentucky State Music Teachers Association: William Budai, NCTM, president
Arkansas Music Teachers Association: Lisa Miller, president
Hawaii Music Teachers Association: Glenn H. Nagatoshi, president
South Dakota Music Teachers Association: Suzanne Skyrm, NCTM, president