2010 Awards Recipients

MTNA Achievement Award

Alan Walker
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Teachers of the Year

Bill and Mary Ann Knight
Rome, Georgia

Distinguished Service Award

Brian Chung
Los Alamitos, California

Frances Clark Pedagogy Award

Home Concert Xtreme
Produced by TimeWarp Technologies
George Litterst, owner

Distinguished Composer of the Year

Pierre Jalbert
Houston, Texas
Sonata for Piano
Commissioned by the Texas MTA

Distinguished Composer Honorable Mention

Cynthia Folio
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Commissioned by Pennsylvania MTA

Distinguished Composer Honorable Mention

Narong Prangcharoen
Kansas City, Missouri
Between Heaven and Earth
Commissioned by Missouri MTA

State Affiliate of the Year

Louisiana Music Teachers Association
Donna Toney, NCTM, president

Local Association of the Year

Okanogan County Music Teachers Association (Washington)
Roz Nau, president

Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year

University of Montana Keyboard Society
Elaine Bennion, president
Christopher Hahn, NCTM, advisor

American Music Teacher Article of the Year

Rhonda Ringering, NCTM
Forest Grove, Ore
"Keeping the Beat: How to Teach Classical Piano Students to Play With a Jazz Band"
April/May 2009 AMT

StAR/Studio Teacher Fellowship Award

Jennifer Mansour
Edmond, Oklahoma

MTNA-Piano Technicians Guild Scholarship

Recreational Music Making Workshop
Kate Young, NCTM
Cincinnati, Ohio

MTNA-Piano Technicians Guild Scholarship

Teacher Continuing Education and/or Performance Study
Carol Ann Barry, NCTM
Springfield, Virginia