# MUSIC TEACHERS NATIONAL ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

San Antonio, Texas April 6, 2016

#### **MINUTES**

## **ATTENDEES**

### **Present**

President Rebecca Grooms Johnson, President-elect Scott McBride Smith, Vice President Karen Thickstun, Secretary-Treasurer Sylvia Coats, Immediate Past President Kenneth Christensen, Kevin Chance (Southern Division), Sue Field (Southwest Division), Sherry Frush (South Central Division), Christopher Hahn (Northwest Division), Ginger Hwalek (Eastern Division), Beth Klingenstein (West Central Division), Christine Steiner (East Central Division), and Executive Director & CEO Gary Ingle (ex officio without vote)

#### **Staff Present**

COO Brian Shepard and Executive Coordinator to the CEO Diana Viltrakis

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

President Rebecca Grooms Johnson called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m. April 6, 2016.

#### **BUSINESS**

The newly-seated Board met to elect from among the Division Directors a member to the Finance Committee.

Motion and second to elect Southern Division Director Kevin Chance to be a member of the Finance Committee.

#### **PASSED**

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

The next meeting of the Finance Committee will be June 7-8, 2016 in Cincinnati, Ohio and the Board of Directors will meet July 11-13, 2016 in Cincinnati, Ohio.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

President Johnson adjourned the meeting at 10:06 a.m. on April 6, 2016.

Respectfully submitted,

Sylvia Coats Secretary-Treasurer