MUSIC TEACHERS NATIONAL ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

Chicago, Illinois March 26, 2014

MINUTES

ATTENDEES

Present

President Kenneth Christensen, President-elect Rebecca Johnson, Vice President Debra Florian, Secretary-Treasurer Karen Thickstun, Grace McFarlane (Eastern Division), Marc Hebda (Southern Division), Gail Heywood (East Central Division), Suzanne Torkelson (West Central Division), Sharon Ard (South Central Division), Jani Peterson (Northwest Division), Helen Chao-Casano (Southwest Division), and Executive Director & CEO Gary Ingle (ex officio without vote)

Absent

Immediate Past President Benjamin Caton

Staff Present

COO Brian Shepard and Executive Coordinator to the CEO Diana Viltrakis

CALL TO ORDER

President Kenneth Christensen called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. March 26, 2014.

BUSINESS

The newly seated Board met to elect a representative from among the Division Directors to the Finance Committee. Jani Peterson and Sharon Ard were nominated. The vote was taken via secret ballot and Sharon Ard was elected the representative.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next meeting of the Finance Committee will be June 3-4, 2014 in Cincinnati, Ohio and the Board of Directors will meet July 10-13, 2014 in Cincinnati, Ohio.

ADJOURNMENT

President Christensen adjourned the meeting at 10:07 a.m. on March 26, 2014.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Thickstun Secretary-Treasurer